Will “Precious” breathe life into the issue of adult literacy?

Go see it, and let us know what you think. It opens in limited release this Friday, November 6, 2009.

As I have written in previous posts on this site, I think the book  on which the movie was based was amazing and a must read for every Adult Literacy tutor, especially those working with inmates. I was saddened yet invigorated by this remarkable book both times I read it – a kind of  “the sea is so wide and my boat is so small” reaction.

I have worked in jails for many years, and have heard the story of Clarieece “Precious” Jones all too many times. I have high hopes that this movie, already pegged for Oscar honors, will motivate more to give some time to improving the literacy skills of someone, somewhere…

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

